Each local government area (LGA) or council within the Sydney metropolitan area offers a variety of building and planning services designed to ensure the appropriate development and maintenance of their localities. While the specific procedures and rules may vary between councils, common services provided by these councils often include:

  1. Development Applications (DAs): This service involves processing and assessing applications for new developments, renovations, or changes to existing buildings. This ensures that all proposed structures comply with local planning controls, building regulations, and environmental considerations.
  2. Planning Proposals and Amendments: Councils often handle proposals to change local planning controls. This could involve rezoning land, amending development standards, or making other changes to the local environmental plan.
  3. Building Certificates and Inspections: Councils are responsible for conducting inspections at key stages of construction to ensure work complies with the approved plans and relevant building codes. Councils also issue building certificates which certify that a building’s structure is legal and complies with current building regulations.
  4. Heritage Conservation: Many councils maintain lists of heritage items and conservation areas within their boundaries. They provide advice on maintaining, renovating, or altering heritage items and buildings in conservation areas.
  5. Environmental Assessments: Environmental assessment services evaluate the potential environmental impact of proposed developments. They guide the design and implementation of development proposals to ensure sustainable practices.
  6. Local Strategic Planning: Councils provide local strategic planning services, which involve setting out a vision for the local area’s future development. This involves setting goals and strategies for issues like housing, infrastructure, environment, and community facilities.
  7. Public Consultation: Most councils provide opportunities for public consultation on major projects or changes to planning rules. This allows community members to have a say in the development of their local area.

These services aim to manage growth and change within the local area, while balancing social, economic, and environmental factors. They ensure that development contributes positively to the community and local environment. However, the details of these services can vary between councils, so it is always recommended to visit each council’s website or contact them directly for specific information.

Building & Planning – Sydney Councils

  1. Bayside Council: https://www.bayside.nsw.gov.au/
  2. Blacktown City Council: https://www.blacktown.nsw.gov.au/
  3. Burwood Council: https://www.burwood.nsw.gov.au/
  4. Camden Council: https://www.camden.nsw.gov.au/
  5. Campbelltown City Council: https://www.campbelltown.nsw.gov.au/
  6. Canada Bay Council: https://www.canadabay.nsw.gov.au/
  7. Canterbury-Bankstown Council: https://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/
  8. City of Parramatta Council: https://www.cityofparramatta.nsw.gov.au/
  9. Cumberland City Council: https://www.cumberland.nsw.gov.au/
  10. Fairfield City Council: https://www.fairfieldcity.nsw.gov.au/
  11. Georges River Council: https://www.georgesriver.nsw.gov.au/
  12. Hornsby Shire Council: https://www.hornsby.nsw.gov.au/
  13. Hunter’s Hill Council: https://www.huntershill.nsw.gov.au/
  14. Inner West Council: https://www.innerwest.nsw.gov.au/
  15. Ku-ring-gai Council: http://www.kmc.nsw.gov.au/
  16. Lane Cove Council: http://www.lanecove.nsw.gov.au/
  17. Liverpool City Council: https://www.liverpool.nsw.gov.au/
  18. Mosman Municipal Council: http://www.mosman.nsw.gov.au/
  19. North Sydney Council: https://www.northsydney.nsw.gov.au/
  20. Northern Beaches Council: https://www.northernbeaches.nsw.gov.au/
  21. Penrith City Council: https://www.penrithcity.nsw.gov.au/
  22. Randwick City Council: https://www.randwick.nsw.gov.au/
  23. Ryde City Council: https://www.ryde.nsw.gov.au/
  24. Strathfield Council: http://www.strathfield.nsw.gov.au/
  25. Sutherland Shire Council: https://www.sutherlandshire.nsw.gov.au/
  26. City of Sydney: https://www.cityofsydney.nsw.gov.au/
  27. The Hills Shire Council: https://www.thehills.nsw.gov.au/
  28. Waverley Council: https://www.waverley.nsw.gov.au/
  29. Willoughby City Council: https://www.willoughby.nsw.gov.au/
  30. Woollahra Municipal Council: https://www.woollahra.nsw.gov.au/